We are currently moving our web services and information to Canada.ca.

The Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat website will remain available until this move is complete.

Chief Information Officer

John Messina

Photographe de John Messina, Dirigeant principal de l'information.

John Messina was appointed to the position of Chief Information Officer of the Government of Canada, effective August 24, 2015.

John comes to Treasury Board Secretariat from the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) where he was Assistant Commissioner and Chief Information Officer. Previously, Mr. Messina was the Deputy Assistant Commissioner for both Infrastructure and Solutions at CRA, and has 29 years of IT-related experience in various management positions within CRA.

Mr. Messina graduated from Laurentian University with a Bachelor of Commerce degree and is a Certified Professional Accountant, and recently completed the Certificate Program in Public Sector Leadership and Governance at the University of Ottawa.

Chief Information Officer Branch (CIOB)

As the Chief Information Officer for the Government of Canada, Mr. Messina is responsible for leading policy development and enablement, management oversight and community capacity development for six policy areas: information management, information technology, identity management and security, access to information, privacy, and internal and external services. CIOB leads the development of strategy and provides direction and leadership to federal departments and agencies for the government-wide pursuit of excellence in these policy domains. CIOB also collaborates actively with other Canadian and international jurisdictions on the development of best practices and on cross-jurisdictional initiatives.

Date modified:

Dirigeante principal de l'information

John Messina

Photographe de John Messina, Dirigeante principale de l'information.

John Messina occupe le poste de dirigeant principal de l'information au gouvernement du Canada depuis le 24 août 2015.

M. Messina s'est joint au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada après avoir occupé le poste de commissaire adjoint et de dirigeant principal de l'information à l'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC). Antérieurement, M. Messina a travaillé à titre de sous-commissaire adjoint, ARC, Infrastructure et solutions, et il a cumulé 29 ans d'expérience dans le domaine de la TI, en occupant divers rôles de gestion au sein de l'Agence.

M. Messina a obtenu un baccalauréat en commerce de l'Université Laurentienne. Il détient le titre de comptable professionnel agréé et a récemment terminé le Programme de certificat en leadership du secteur public et gouvernance de l'Université d'Ottawa.

Direction du dirigeant principal de l'information (DDPI)

En tant que dirigeant principal de l'information, M. Messina est responsable de l'élaboration et de la mise en œuvre des politiques, de la surveillance de la gestion et du développement des capacités de la collectivité dans six secteurs stratégiques : la gestion de l'information, la technologie de l'information, la gestion de l'identité et la sécurité, l'accès à l'information, la protection des renseignements personnels, et les services internes et externes. La DDPI dirige l'établissement de l'orientation stratégique et fournit une orientation et un leadership aux ministères et organismes fédéraux en vue de promouvoir l'excellence dans ces domaines stratégiques à l'échelle du gouvernement. La DDPI collabore également avec d'autres administrations canadiennes et étrangères à l'élaboration de pratiques exemplaires et d'initiatives intergouvernementales.

Date de modification :